Sweden vs. USA, part 1

A Swedish man who lives in the states, told me when I first came that after a while I would start seeing the good and the bad things about both countries. That the United State of America is a awesome country to live in after all, but that Sweden of course have some good sides too. I really thought he was crazy and that Sweden was the best country in the world. I remember saying how I loved and hated the States at the same, time just like a love and hate-relationship. But as time went by most of the hate turned into love, and leaving the country and city was going to be one of the hardest things I've ever done.

So here I am, almost two years after i left the greatest country in the world, feeling miserable and confused. Suddenly the greatest country in the world isn't that great anymore. I left The land of the free and honestly I could feel the freedom leaving me aswell. I don't know how to say this without sounding crazy, but the States made me happy, and Sweden doesn't.

LOVE,
Kicki


Kommentarer
Postat av: Elise

Oh Kristin, it's making me so sad to see these words from you! I think it's just a hard transition to make after having a life someplace else for almost two years and suddenly being yanked back. I remember when you had that conversation with Olof and how you thought he was crazy... You thought he had become "too American"!



Feeling what you are is like having more than one child, at first you feel afraid that you won't love the second one as much as you love the first but then you find out that you do - it's just different. You can love both countries, they are just different. Think about how lucky you are to really have experienced two different cultures and how that will always help you to understand the differences in other people. Here I go waxing poetic! :) It's only been a week and things will get better as you start really LIVING in Sweden. Snow in late March - how great is that!? it's raining here.....

2009-03-27 @ 14:00:03

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0